new year, new mend

Uh oh – where have I been?!

Balancing….

susi_bancroft_mending1

Remember this… jeans mending piece

Well , it seems to be attracting alot of interest! I find this heartening.

It always feels natural and easy working on denims – patching, mending, stitching, embroidering, creating something with a deeper beauty whilst protecting it, saving it from falling apart. It has lead a full life, shows the signs, the places of strain as well as tears.

So – in looking, suddenly I notice the full subtle colours of the threads, the softness of the cloth through wear. I want to hold on to this.

susibancroft_jeansmend1

To back the tears with bursts of colour, to stitch the layers with rhythm and balance

and add something.

susibancroft_jeans mending 2

 

 

 

I want to thank someone special too – for her inspiration, and a practical note about blanket stitch! Have a look at http://daintytime.net/2012/12/15/faq-mending-binding/

Thanks Sherri Lynn!

9 thoughts on “new year, new mend

  1. I love this new mending. I find it intriguing that you are stitching up to the new fabric but not over the top of it – it remains separate – I have a theory about this and the identity of the fabric. Kay

    • I found the Basil Kardasi section of the film very thoughtful, but there is only one screen and one set of headphones. Wish UWE would post the film on YouTube!

Comments are closed.