Strength and fragility…

I searched back through for this post about a beautiful quilt I have – patched and pieced

It lies nowadays draped over my making table with the creamy white backing face upwards, and I often glance down and rest my eyes on the hand stitching and think

Susi vintage quilt 2The sun shone through it’s fragile layers this week – areas are disintegrating and revealing the inside and the softness and melting colours were so restful

Susi vintage quilt 4Susi vintage quilt 5It could stay folded quietly away, but I love it’s ageing qualities – out of sight would I really be caring for it more?! I prefer to keep it with me, alongside me..

The white thread patterns texture the surface – stitches as strong as ever – the even rhythm of their work is quietly astonishing to me and connects me to so many stitching hands – I linger as I Iook, wondering about it’s making

Susi vintage quilt 3It had an outing this last summer when family children were all camping in a yurt nearby and I thought why not?! I wonder if they will remember it in years to come…It came back smelling faintly of woodsmoke from the wood burner..

One thought on “Strength and fragility…

  1. Oh I love the words you use to describe this beautiful old quilt. Protecting by sorting it safely would be a waste of it’s beauty. As you say so beautifully it needs to seen, held and loved everyday. It was made to bring warmth and comfort, so pleased to hear it is still doing that to you and others in your family.

Leave a Reply

