pieced and patched comfort…


Not originally a family quilt this one I hold close

So loved and pre-loved  …

It is threadbare – worn, faded, torn – the wadding showing through, so beautifully soft to touch – those are the qualities I treasure. The colours are delicate and subtle, mixed with strong indigo blues.. The piecing is balanced, soothing but always offering interest where the eye rests..

When I was a child and ill, I would lie on a sofa by the fire wrapped in a quilt or eiderdown

I used to gaze at the patterns and colours and stitching. I find I still do.

The quilting, in white cotton thread, is so rhythmic, so meditative. And then, on the borders, best seen from the back, the stitching flows – how it flows!

3 thoughts on “pieced and patched comfort…

  1. Pingback: Strength and fragility… | boostitch

  2. I love what is said here! I have 100 year old family quilts that I preserve in a cedar chest…. When I was young they were on my bed…. After reading this beautiful sentiment I think it’s time to get them out…. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

