hand washing…work in progress!

Looking ahead and beyond …

This weekend I have been working on some pieces for the Brunel Broderers forthcoming exhibition at Musgrove Park Hospital Taunton for June – August 2012 – Mending My Ways

Amongst other pieces I have chosen, these have been developed as new work especially for the context and I am excited by them!

The positions of the hands are those recommended for best washing practice

Walking around any hospital there are many posters and signs reminding us to ‘wash our hands’ – I thought a gentle reminder and alternative take might be appropriate! The hanging threads have silvery highlights like droplets of water

My cousin’s hands are my model – family hands again, hands of someone who gives so generously in the community – seemed like the perfect choice! She has been out planting sunflowers this weekend to brighten her neighbourhood…

Worked on cotton organdie – drawing with machine on free motion, pen for a different quality of line and detail and hand stitch

One thought on “hand washing…work in progress!

  1. Pingback: Mending My Ways.. | boostitch

Leave a Reply

