a delicate rhythm

The work I am going to start showing from today has special significance  – I have decided to reveal it slowly over several posts during this month so as to share it as thoughtfully as I can. The work has been on Exhibition and part of it will be shown again this June – but more of that in the days to come…

It started with my mother – making a Liberty print quilt – a hexagonal Granny’s Flower Garden Quilt. We had lots of carefully pieced hexagons and my mother had begun years ago to make up the quilt for her bed. I remember seeking out fabrics for her, postcards arriving with scraps attached and requests. We found it carefully wrapped in a drawer and I suggested I stitch it for her as an Autumn project, sitting with her.

2 thoughts on “a delicate rhythm

Leave a Reply

